The Lawrenceville School History
Founded in 1810 as the Maidenhead Academy, what is now known as The Lawrenceville School has maintained two defining characteristics throughout its history: a willingness to explore and adopt the best practices in education and a commitment to maintaining traditions that continue to resonate with students.
Arguably the single most powerful development of the school occurred in 1883, when the school was transformed from a small proprietarial enterprise, owned (and renamed) by each successive headmaster, to one run by The Lawrenceville School Board of Trustees under the John Cleve Green Foundation. As The Lawrenceville School, the institution established many of the traits it is known for today.
The changes were reflected on the campus itself when the Board asked landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted, the designer of Central Park, and prominent architects Peabody and Sterns of Boston to design the newly expanded grounds of the school to thoughtfully and deliberately create a strong community atmosphere. The result was the Circle, now a National Historic Landmark.
For more than 200 years, Lawrenceville graduates have gone on to success in their chosen fields, prepared by their education for the changing world around them.
The Lawrenceville School
2500 Main Street
Route 206 North
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
(609) 896-0400 - Main
(609) 895-2030 - Admission